top of page

Preventable Losses


We're forty-six days into 2018, and we've already had eighteen gun-related school incidents. As insensitive as this may seem, school shootings have become as frequent as natural disasters; however, the aftermath is much different …

During my 8th grade year, I remember watching news reports from The Columbine Shooting. It was the most surreal experience, realizing that someone could do such a thing … to just walk into a school and kill people.

Since then, each school shooting has affected me differently because they happened at different phases in my life.

As a student, I feared for myself.

Now that I'm a parent—not a day goes by that I don't pray for my children's safety.

Sometimes, I clench my steering wheel, faking a smile and holding back tears as my anxiety terrorizes my thoughts with images I pray to never experience.

Driving my oldest son to school is often a juggling act of being positive and present for him while mentally pleading with the Universe that I never have to endure the pain inflicted onto the many parents who have kissed their children goodbye … without knowing it would be their final farewell.

With such tragedies, there's always conflicting sides.

Some may protest, exceeding stricter gun regulations.

Others will implore easier gun accessibility for school employees.

Regardless of what we believe what should have been implemented to prevent such tragedies, what's most important is always ignored …

Mental illness has been one of the primary factors in numerous American mass shootings. Therefore, we must be more aware of those mentally suffering. Too often, those who plan and execute such atrocities exhibit negative behaviors that are obviously too dangerous to ignore.

Yet, many keep silent without doing what's right: speaking out and preventing such heartbreaking losses.

We must be vigilant in preventing such catastrophes by observing and helping those who reveal the characteristics of one who might plot and execute such crimes.

At this point, it's irrelevant to point fingers and play the blame game. Frankly, it's the negligence of our society that has once again caused another massacre. As long as we stigmatize mental illness, instead of helping those who may later hurt us, we will continue to suffer with the loss of our loved ones.

We cannot blame the guns and bullets that end the lives of those we love. What must be done is to evaluate how we can truly prevent any more devastating gun-related school incidents.

Krihstin Zink is a Texas-based wife, mama, product promoter and the bestselling author of Scarlet's Torment, Scarlet Unleashed, 3 Grams, Kate, and Scarlet Forever. When she's not adventuring with her family, or building her brand, she's concocting charismatic stories that keep her readers coming back for more. Her books and products are all available on her website. http://krihstinzink.wixsite.com/kzwrites


Contact KZ
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Recent Posts
bottom of page