top of page

One Year Later: How Direct-Sales Companies Helped My Writing.


This time last year, I was in a mega negative head space. Since my teen years, I've struggled with anxiety and depression. However, from June 2015 - February 2017, I had slowly plummeted into what felt like an inescapable dark time in my life.

After a year and a half as a full-time editor and self-published author, I realized that the indie-book world had caused so much unhappiness.

I love books and editing/writing, but the negativity of low book reviews, the author popularity contest, and weekly indirect drama wasn't the best work environment for me.

As of 2005, I've promoted too many direct-sales companies to list. However, the beauty company I'd joined on 4Feb17 had revealed the path towards the person I was meant to be.

It was as if I had found a lifesaver that pulled me out of the depths of my work-related despair.

Thanks to that beauty company, I'd rediscovered my self-esteem and passion. Thus, I'd finally reemerged as the positive version of myself, the one I'd lost during my failure to become a known author.

Rebranding myself as a writer and product promoter has been a necessary detour towards the right direction for my writing, and ultimately a change that I desperately needed.

My first month with that beauty company was amazing, but nothing last forever…

Following months of stock issues and what became a difficult to sell product, I concluded that that beauty company wasn't for me.

I'm meant to work in sales, but not for that company.

Frankly, there's nothing better than working from home with my kids while using discounted and fantastic products. Additionally, thanks to my current direct-sales ventures, I've found new readers for my books and I'm able to do what I love: share my writing.

No, I'm not writing fiction (which I plan to return to in 2021, or maybe sooner), but I'm writing product reviews and sales ads, which have helped me refine my written voice and return to my blog.

Before 4Feb17, I was writing what I liked but also what I'd hoped would create a reliable income, which, since graduating from grad school, has always been my primary focus. Unfortunately, that period in my writing career was meant for learning, not becoming a rich and famous author.

Now, I am focusing on building my audience and brand, and using/selling everyday products that have brought so much greatness to my life.

When I'm able to finally publish another book, I'll have an even stronger written voice, an established audience, as well as income from my DS companies to finance my books.

Honestly, anyone who needs extra money or a way to meet new people should consider investing in a direct-sales company that fits their life and network. Today, I'm beyond grateful for the last year of learning experiences, and I hope the work years that follow will become mostly wonderful memories.

If you found this helpful, please share.

Krihstin Zink is a Texas-based wife, mama, product promoter and the bestselling author of Scarlet's Torment, Scarlet Unleashed, 3 Grams, Kate, and Scarlet Forever. When she's not adventuring with her family, or building her brand, she's concocting charismatic stories that keep her readers coming back for more. Her books and products are all available on her website. http://krihstinzink.wixsite.com/kzwrites


Contact KZ
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Recent Posts
bottom of page